Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT



Distributed computing for research projects by using surplus IT-resources


Bild sgrid

sGrid (=social Grid) is a project at the Institute for Program Structures and Data Organization (IPD) Prof. Dr. Walter F. Tichy at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and offers the possibility of distributed computing for research projects by using already available, surplus IT-resources.

The sGrid-Software was developed in fall semester 2012/13 in the scope of the „Software Engineering Practice” course by KIT’s computer science students Emanuel Jöbstl, Jérôme Urhausen, Elisaweta Masserova and Ainara Askar. The team has been coached by Alexander Wachtel.


sGrid builds on the Open-Source Software BOINC (Berkeley Open Infrastructure for Network Computing, http://boinc.berkeley.edu), which provides an open method for distributed computing. sGrid is a software system, composed of a client and a server application including a website, which builds a bridge between science projects and voluntary users and provides a complete solution for the participation at distributed computing projects.

sGrid expands the functionality of BOINC through:

  • An easy One-Click-Installation of the software and user-friendly Interface
  • A reward system in order to encourage volunteers to participate at the project
  • The possibility of social interaction
A typical use case of sGrid is described in the following section. A user can register with his e-mail address or through OAuth- or OpenId-Providers, such as Facebook. After this, the server application registers the user automatically with the corresponding Grid Partner, which enables sGrid to request statistics and performance reports of the user from this Grid Partner through web-based XML-interfaces. When the user downloads and installs the client application, the client application receives settings and user information from the server application through a WCF interface. With this information, work units can be requested from the Grid Partner. As soon as having finished the calculation on a work unit, the result will be submitted back to the Grid Partner, while the server application will be informed of this event. The client application can now continue work on a new unit. If the validation of the submitted result succeeded, the volunteered time will be immediately credited to the user, which can exchange the grant for various rewards.

BOINC currently has 2.5 M Users, who donate their computing capacity to diverse charitable projects. The target of sGrid is to reasonably increase this count.


  • Karlsruhe Institute for Technology (KIT), Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC), Simulations Laboratory for Elementary- and Astro-Particle Physics, Mr. Dr. Gevorg Poghosyan, Adapting cosmic ray induced air shower simulations onto volunteer computing infrastructure, http://www.scc.kit.edu/forschung/7047.php
  • Karlsruhe Institute for Technology (KIT), Institut for Nanotechnology (INT), @MEOPHOME, Mr. Dr. Timo Strunk, Protein Optimization with Energy Methods, http://boinc.fzk.de/poem/
Title Short Description

Visual Studio


Related to competence

Title First Name Surname


Thesis subjects

News About The Project

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

sGrid

sGrid

Verteiltes Rechnen für Forschungsprojekte durch die Nutzung von bereits vorhandenen, freien IT-Ressourcen

Kurzbeschreibung

Bild sgrid
sGrid

sGrid (=social Grid) ist ein Projekt des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) am Institut für Programmstrukturen und Datenorganisation (IPD) Prof. Dr. Walter F. Tichy und bietet die Möglichkeit des verteilten Rechnens für Forschungsprojekte durch die Nutzung von bereits vorhandenen und freien IT-Ressourcen.

Die sGrid-Software wurde während des Wintersemesters 2012/2013 in der Veranstaltung „Praktikum der Softwareentwicklung“ durch KIT-Informatikstudenten Emanuel Jöbstl, Jérôme Urhausen, Elisaweta Masserova und Ainara Askar entwickelt. Betreut werden die Studenten durch Alexander Wachtel.


sGrid setzt auf der von der Universität Berkeley entwickelten Open-Source Software BOINC (Berkeley Open Infrastructure for Network Computing, http://boinc.berkeley.edu) auf, die das Durchführen verteilten Rechnens ermöglicht. sGrid ist ein Softwaresystem, bestehend aus einer Client- und einer Serveranwendung inklusive Webseite, das eine Brücke zwischen Wissenschaft und freiwilligen Benutzern aufbaut und eine Komplettlösung für die Teilnahme an verteilten Rechenprojekten bereitstellt.

Dabei erweitert sGrid die Funktionalität von BOINC durch:

  • Leichte One-Click-Installation der Software sowie benutzerfreundliche Oberfläche
  • Belohnungssystem als Anreiz für die Freiwilligen an einem Projekt teilzunehmen
  • Soziale Interaktion
Der typische Ablauf der Nutzung der sGrid Software wird im Folgenden näher beschrieben. Ein Benutzer kann sich mittels seiner E-Mail Adresse oder durch die Verwendung von OAuth- oder OpenId-Providern, wie Facebook, registrieren. Die Serveranwendung meldet neue Benutzer während der Registrierung automatisch auch bei dem jeweiligen Grid Partner an, damit Statistiken und Leistungen des Benutzers über XML basierte Schnittstellen vom Grid Partner abgefragt werden können. Lädt der Benutzer die Clientanwendung herunter und installiert diese, so bekommt die Clientanwendung Einstellungen und Benutzerinformationen von der Serveranwendung über eine WCF Schnittstelle mitgeteilt, womit diese Arbeitspakete vom Grid Partner anfordern kann. Ist die Berechnung eines Arbeitspaketes abgeschlossen, wird das Ergebnis zurück an den Grid Partner geleitet, zudem wird die Serveranwendung mittels WCF über den Abschluss der Arbeit informiert. Die Clientanwendung kann nun mit einem neuen Arbeitspaket fortfahren. Wurden die Arbeitspakete vom Grid Partner akzeptiert, wird dem Benutzer die gespendete Rechenzeit gutgeschrieben, es können nun beliebige Prämien für die geleistete Rechenarbeit eingelöst werden.

BOINC verfügt heute über 2.5 Mio. Benutzer, die ihre überschüssige Rechenleistung diversen Hilfsprojekten zur Verfügung stellen. Das Ziel des sGrid-Projekts ist die Anzahl an Benutzern deutlich zu erhöhen.

 

Kooperation:

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC), Simulations Lab E&A Teilchen, Herr Dr. Gevorg Poghosyan, Adapting cosmic ray induced air shower simulations onto volunteer computing infrastructure, http://www.scc.kit.edu/forschung/7047.php
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Institut für Nanotechnologie (INT), @MEOPHOME, Herr Dr. Timo Strunk, Protein Optimization with Energy Methods, http://boinc.fzk.de/poem/

Software
Titel Kurzbeschreibung

Visual Studio

.NET-Framework



Teil des Forschungsgebiets
Titel


Projektbeteiligte
Titel Vorname Nachname

Veröffentlichungen


Studien-/ Bachelor- und Diplom-/ Masterarbeiten


Neuigkeiten zu diesem Projekt
Titel